The Ru Courtod rises at 2,150 meters above sea level on the slopes of the Monte Rosa massif. Its waters flow for almost 25 km along the right orographic of the Val d'Ayas through pastures, coniferous forests, ancient villages and, very often, in the rock carved along the steep slopes of the mountain.
Forty years of immense toil and dedication by its founding fathers were needed to build the Ru (1393 - 1433) which was thus able to water the arid hills of Saint-Vincent, Emarèse and Challant-Saint-Anselme, giving back hope to local farmers. After 600 years, the Ru Courtod is still present and its role has remained intact, although its appearance has changed somewhat, especially during the 1970s, when important works of intubation have partly erased the charm of the past.
The design of the original plant, however, has remained intact: the pleasure of walking along the open-air canal is still possible today for long stretches.